May 7, 2018   //   Archived News

Happy Teacher Appreciation Week!

I am continually in awe of the work that you do to ensure that DuPage County students have the necessary resources to excel. Whether its securing grant funding to provide free preschool to our youngest at-risk learners, passing a successful referendum to create collaborative learning environments for 21st Century Learning, providing SEL resources to families or simply welcoming students each morning to begin the school day with a smile…from cradle to college and career – you are there every step of the way.

During the first week in May, we had several of our colleagues honored for their tireless dedication and I would like to take a moment and recognize their awards:

DuPage Regional Principal of the Year Award – District 33 and 204
The Illinois Association (IPA) Award for the DuPage Region Principal of the Year went out to two of our own – Principal Gloria Trejo of Pioneer Elementary School in West Chicago School District 33 and Principal Jason Stipp of Waubonsie Valley High School of Indian Prairie School District 204. We commend the outstanding contributions and support of the continued important work you do in educating our children and providing leadership in today’s dynamic environment.

Marguerite Key Fellows Award – District 200
Congratulations to Principal Rachel Bednar at Edison Middle School and Principal Debra Klein at Emerson Elementary School, both of Wheaton School District 200, for being awarded as one of the six principals for receiving the inaugural Marguerite Key Fellows Award.

Superintendents of Distinction and Principal of the Year – District 201 and District 16
The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE), Illinois Principals Association (IPA), Horace Mann Companies along with the Illinois Association of School Administrators (IASA) announced Jack Baldermann of Westmont High School Unit School District 201 as Principal of the Year and recognized Victoria Tabbert of Queen Bee School District 16 as Superintendent of Distinction. This truly represents your extraordinary qualities of excellent leadership, dedication and hard work. It is an honor working with you.

Illinois Green Ribbon School Nomination – District 181
We are proud to recognize Monroe Elementary School in Hinsdale for being announced as one of the nominees for receiving the IL Green Ribbon school Award. Monroe is now in its twenty-third year of utilizing their “Living Classroom Learning Lab” which showcases their dedication to environmental studies and hands-on learning across the curriculum.


Congratulations to all of you!

All my best,

Darlene J. Ruscitti